‘The Invention of Wings’ by Sue Monk Kidd

I’ve just finished reading another of Sue Monk Kidd’s sublimely written novels; ‘The Invention of Wings.’

It wasn’t what I was expecting, for the simple fact that while I thought I was reading fiction, the story is based on fact.

A simple line she found in a historical document has helped the writer to build a world that is wholly believable and eloquently  realistic. Yet the story is also shot through with unsettling revelations on the treatment of slaves in the pre-civil war period of the southern states of America.

A grand, wealthy, respected family in  South Carolina gives their 11 year old daughter, Sara, a slave as her personal maid, named Handful.

Completely shocked and unable to comprehend that she owns another human being, Sara immediately tries to grant the child her freedom and thus is set the stage for the friendship, character development and attitude of both girls, on into adulthood.

What is freedom anyway? And who controls it?  Told with unapologetic realism, the story is both fluidly written and heart breaking at the same time as it is shot through with shockingly confronting abuses of black people by their white self-righteous ‘owners’.

What amazed me even more was when I listened to a nagging voice in my head that said ‘google Sara Grimke’.

I did and behold – she is a real, historical figure.  Sara is a famous early feminist who has was also a well known abolitionist. There are even photos of her available. Sara and her younger sister Angelina, traveled the country, giving public discourses against slavery. Sara even wrote in support of Abraham Lincoln.

A fascinating woman and ahead of her time. I love stories, fictitious or factual, based on strong, intelligent, independent women who stand up for what’s right and fight for it and so I’m grateful to have met Sara Grimke through the melodically fluent pages of Sue Monk Kidd’s novel.

About loulouszal

Hi, I have always loved stories, from Dr Suess to Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, as a child and on to Jane Austen as a teen and adult. I love writing stories and poems too. I think writing and reading fantasy is a great way to travel, in your head and visit places you might never otherwise see. they can be as wonderful as you want to make them. I kept writing as a hobby all through my teen years and then as an adult, married with children ,I wrote stories for my family and read them out aloud as we traveled on long car trips in foreign countries. "The Diary of Arnmore" is one of these stories, followed closely by "Hungry Mr Croc." Two very different stories, aimed at completely different age groups, but both definately worth a read!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

