BAD GRAMMAR

A quick note and reminder: we have to watch our grammar and spelling more carefully…[and I hope I make no mistakes as I write this…]

Lately I’ve seen a few signs on shop front windows that are embarrassing to the owners and sign makers; if only they knew it!

A sign above a medical practice, [not practise] read…. “DOCTOR  SURGERY”…..So, I guess that was the place you went to if you were a doctor and needed to have a little surgery performed on you. I expect the ‘professionals’ inside the practice only performed surgery on doctors! What if you are a dentist and need a wart removed from your foot, should you go to a  ‘DENTIST SURGERY’? Somewhat confusing in the long run if surgeries only attend to one profession or another.

I haven’t seen where the postman or the butcher should go to get medical attention, in that case. Has anyone?

I was showing some overseas visitors our glorious Sydney Harbour one Saturday afternoon, recently and as we strolled toward the iconic Opera House we passed two young people selling tickets to a jet-boat ride around the harbour. A small chalk-board sign erected on the pathway to get the attention of tourists read..”YOUR NEXT!”  The cute drawing of an open-mouthed shark beside these words conveyed the feeling that the ride was dangerous but exciting as you at risk of being eaten by one of these Australian aquatic predators.

I walked past [not passed] the sign, but couldn’t help myself. I turned around and went back to the two people handing out leaflets for the boat-ride.

“Which one of you wrote this sign?” I asked politely.

The girl pointed to the guy, who also pointed to himself as he smiled. 

I smiled back, “It’s incorrect,” I stated with authority.

“Is it?” The young man asked, turning to look at his handiwork.

“Yes, you need an apostrophe between the ‘u’ and the ‘r’ and you need an ‘e’ on the end, so that it can be read ‘you are next,’ not ‘your next’ as in ‘your next pay cheque will be cancelled if you don’t fix this soon.’  

‘Oh,”was his response, all the while keeping his sociable, ‘the customer is always right’ smile plastered to his face. “Are you an English teacher or something?” he astutely added.

“Yes,” I responded. “Or something.” I walked off, pointing at him and mouthing the words “FIX IT!” to him, like the hard-nosed controlling teacher I am!

My friends from Europe had wandered a discreet distance away, but I found them again.

And while I’m at it.. Can we say “properly’, not “proply”.

“probably” not “probly”

“fulfillment,” not f-filment.”

“library,” not ‘libry” or “libary”.

The list is long and loquacious and [if you have to look up that word,] please, please… spell it PROPERLY!

 

 

 

About loulouszal

Hi, I have always loved stories, from Dr Suess to Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, as a child and on to Jane Austen as a teen and adult. I love writing stories and poems too. I think writing and reading fantasy is a great way to travel, in your head and visit places you might never otherwise see. they can be as wonderful as you want to make them. I kept writing as a hobby all through my teen years and then as an adult, married with children ,I wrote stories for my family and read them out aloud as we traveled on long car trips in foreign countries. "The Diary of Arnmore" is one of these stories, followed closely by "Hungry Mr Croc." Two very different stories, aimed at completely different age groups, but both definately worth a read!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

