What I’m reading this week….

Hi everyone,

I’ve just received my latest book in the mail…’The Princes in the Tower,” by Alison Weir.

It’s the story of the death, in sinister circumstances of the boy king; Edward the fourth of England and his younger brother Richard, in the 1480’s. The boys were kept in the Tower of London for so long that eventually they disappeared from view and their uncle, King Richard the third, eventually ruled in their place. [Richard’s bones have recently been uncovered in what was once a field, in England]

The boys were never heard from again till 1674 when the bones of two young boys were found buried beneath a staircase, during renovations on the tower. Forensic testing has since placed the bones to be highly likely those of the two young princes and the remains were moved to Westminster Abbey shortly after.

It’s a fascinating story and a sad one, full of mystery. The author and collator of the information, Alison Weir writes beautifully and fluently so that a historically complex, political recounting of events becomes easy to follow and simple to understand.

I first came upon Alison Weir as a writer quite accidentally while traveling through America about 12 years ago. I found her book; “The Children of Henry V111′  beneath a pile of other books in a great crate. I bought the book as I like the history of Tudor England and wanted to know more. I could not put the book down and have since read it over.

It’s due to Weir’s writing that I remember so much about the four children Henry had and the traumatic, unsteady lives they led, as his offspring.

Weir has a long list of books thoroughly researched historical books that make addictive reading and make you feel like you personally know these larger than life characters that made extraordinary changes to  history.

So, once again, I can reiterate that it’s entertaining and educational  to  read amazing stories and learn from history at the same time.

Have a great day,

Loulou

About loulouszal

Hi, I have always loved stories, from Dr Suess to Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, as a child and on to Jane Austen as a teen and adult. I love writing stories and poems too. I think writing and reading fantasy is a great way to travel, in your head and visit places you might never otherwise see. they can be as wonderful as you want to make them. I kept writing as a hobby all through my teen years and then as an adult, married with children ,I wrote stories for my family and read them out aloud as we traveled on long car trips in foreign countries. "The Diary of Arnmore" is one of these stories, followed closely by "Hungry Mr Croc." Two very different stories, aimed at completely different age groups, but both definately worth a read!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

