Reading and Writing Has Changed

This year I have been spending a lot of time re-hashing smaller novels I have written. I write when I travel and in the last few years, wrote a few simple romance stories that I thought I might try to get published with large publishing houses. This is proving a challenge as two of my stories have been almost accepted. I say ‘almost’ because the publishing houses replied that they  liked my stories ‘BUT’…could I write shorter, simpler sentences?

Could I write less descriptive passages?

Could I start my story exactly when and where the two main characters meet, no explanations and no information leading up to their meeting?

Could I have fewer, other characters in the story?

This is not the way I know novels to be BUT, it seems, that this is the NEW way to write….for electronic book downloads.

I get it….people are busy, they want to read the something on their iphones or ipad on the bus, on the way to work. The story needs to be short and sweet I guess.

I don’t mind, as  that seems to be the trend and I suppose as long as people are reading, do I care??

So, I am editing my stories, I have chopped the first two chapters so that chapter 3 is now chapter 1. I have deleted whole characters who I thought added dimension and flavour to my story, but they are not needed it seems and my story can do without them.

The story is now completely different,  but do I care? Not really, I enjoy the challenge of fitting my characters and settings into a new mould and still trying to keep the characters true to who I want them to be.

I know the longer, multi-layered, multi-charactered, 1000 page novels are out there because I buy them, I even still write them.

But it’s an interesting challenge to write for electronic media. Books that can be only a few chapters long and bought for $2.99 then downloaded.

It’s a whole new way to write, read and buy literature. Very convenient actually. The rules are slightly different, but no less fascinating.

We can browse these books on the internet, buy and download them, read them during one bus ride to work or one lunch break. Or browse, shop, buy, read from the comfort of our own bed in the evening.

I have to say though, that I still really enjoy walking into a bookshop, seeing, touching the books and then buying one that fits solidly in the palm of my hand.

In the end, I suppose it doesn’t matter whether the book is 1000 paper pages or 20 electronic pages…as long as its a book and I can read it.

What do you think?? Are we reading and writing differently??

About loulouszal

Hi, I have always loved stories, from Dr Suess to Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, as a child and on to Jane Austen as a teen and adult. I love writing stories and poems too. I think writing and reading fantasy is a great way to travel, in your head and visit places you might never otherwise see. they can be as wonderful as you want to make them. I kept writing as a hobby all through my teen years and then as an adult, married with children ,I wrote stories for my family and read them out aloud as we traveled on long car trips in foreign countries. "The Diary of Arnmore" is one of these stories, followed closely by "Hungry Mr Croc." Two very different stories, aimed at completely different age groups, but both definately worth a read!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

