Hi to everyone,

I’m posting some photos taken recently when I visited the fabulous Auburn library in Sydney on June 26th, for a  ‘MEET THE AUTHOR’ afternoon organised by the tireless Children’s librarian, Leonie Jordon.

(Thanks to Isabella Andruszkiewicz for the introduction.}

I really had a lovely time and enjoyed discussing reading and writing with those that came to listen and chat. I spoke about my love of books and fantasy stories  and why I wrote them, particularly  the novel; “The Diary of Arnmore,” which is aimed at teens and is a classic tale of good against evil, but with a twist.

It is written in the first person, as a memoir. A woman is telling the story of what happened to her and her family when she was a young girl and how her life changed when she inadvertently bought a hand written diary with her one small coin….. The diary contained the record of  the destruction of another world, not too far away and it contained riddles and rhymes that explain how the destroyer of that world might be stopped, if only the reader of the diary could decipher the writings in it.

The young girl Rebekah has no idea of all this until her life is turned upside down by a stranger and her very existence threatened. Can she decipher the diary and its riddles in time or will she be swept away like the rest of her village and her family?

Can she save her older brothers who have disappeared? What of the great gnarly wolf? And what of the strange elfin creature; Aechibus…who seems to know more than he is saying?

It really is worth the  trip, with Rebekah, through the Great Forest to the other unknown side where strange things happen and it’s hard to know who to trust……

I really enjoyed writing ‘The Dairy of Arnmore’ and I loved being able to make the story twist and turn unexpectedly, right up until the very last surprising chapter….

During the ‘Meet the Author’ session we discussed favourite books of mine, like ‘Little Women’ by L.M. Alcott and even other classics like ‘Gone With the Wind’ by Margaret Mitchell…I guess I mentioned those books because they have strong female main characters and I have always admired them, their willingness to take on a challenge and fight for what they know is right, or be the driving force in their families…. hence the central character of my novel is Rebekah, the youngest in her family, the female; the one least likely to be the hero…. and yet she is.

I spent a lovely afternoon at Auburn Library even though the rain fell in torrents outside and the wind blew erratically. Inside the library it was a hive of activity and honestly, if I didn’t have to drive a long way home, I would have loved to find a cozy nook, pull some books off the shelves and stay there all evening.

Thanks again to Leonie and her sincere efforts to bring books and children together, she has great ideas to team up little minds with the written word and I can’t praise that enough.

Thanks to the photographer from the Auburn Review Newspaper who braved the weather to take photos and thanks to Kim at the newspaper office whom I have spoken to recently,  about books, books and more books!!

Thanks to everyone who came along and made the afternoon memorable and allowed me to meet them and enjoy their company in such a warm environment.

Kind regards,

Loulou

 

 

IMAG0184 IMAG0183 IMAG0184 IMAG0180

About loulouszal

Hi, I have always loved stories, from Dr Suess to Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, as a child and on to Jane Austen as a teen and adult. I love writing stories and poems too. I think writing and reading fantasy is a great way to travel, in your head and visit places you might never otherwise see. they can be as wonderful as you want to make them. I kept writing as a hobby all through my teen years and then as an adult, married with children ,I wrote stories for my family and read them out aloud as we traveled on long car trips in foreign countries. "The Diary of Arnmore" is one of these stories, followed closely by "Hungry Mr Croc." Two very different stories, aimed at completely different age groups, but both definately worth a read!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

